Music for the Herd of Herring / All of Them

RFVP001CDsmfeat. Martin Gordon bass, Andy Ellison vocals, Chris Townson drums, Ian Macleod guitar, Trevor White guitar and Boz Boorer guitar.

All yer fave John’s Children, Radio Stars, Sparks and Jet tunes, all done very loud, despite their understandable crisis of identity. Does not contain chickens or chicken products. Recorded live during the legendary 2000 tour of Europe. There are even three guitarists on it. Originally there were four, but Ellison’s strumming was unaccountable lost during the elaborate mixing process. We have never got to the bottom of this, and are never likely to.

RFVP001_jp_thjphThe Japanese version contained three bonus tracks, and is available only via Radiant Future.

This is what the discerning folk at Tangents wrote:

“I have always had a soft spot for the glam/pop vaudevillian career of Andy Ellison; starting with John’s Children and later joining forces with bassist/songwriter Martin Gordon – a main architect of the Gilbert-and-Sullivan-with-loud-guitars sound that earned the Mael brothers of Sparks their first UK hits – in bands like Jet and Radio Stars. Occasionally over the years, Ellison and Gordon have reconvened for tours, and one during 2000 was recorded and released by Captain Trip as Music For The Herd Of Herring. On it, they’re joined by erstwhile Morrissey collaborator Boz Boorer, and together they power through some delightful, high-humoured versions of classics by each of the above bands, even throwing in the odd Sparks B-side”. M L-H

Track list:

1 Intro
2 My River
3 Radio Stars (Japanese version only)
4 Beast of Barnsley
5 Nervous Wreck
6 Sex in Chains
7 But She’s Mine
8 Sara Crazy Child
9 Jagged Time Lapse
10 Perfumed Garden of Gulliver Smith
11 Brian Damage (Japanese version only)
12 Going Deaf
13 Medley – It Would Be Good/Whangedepootenawhah/Diamonds
14 Cover Girl
15 Nothing To Do With Us
16 Barbecutie
17 Johnny Mekon
18 Dirty Pictures
19 No Russians in Russia
20 Crazy Kids (Japanese version only)
21 Desdemona

Find this CD in the Radiant Future store

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

eighteen − thirteen =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.